Bill P. Godfrey et al


Tuesday, August 08, 2006

Excuse me, I'm busy!

Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! Why is the "Restart Later" button disabled?



I like automatic updates for home use, as I feel the risks of someone exploiting a unpatched vulnerability are much greater than the possibility of a application suddenly not working.

But (and you knew there would be one) doing it this way is just annoying. I had a firefox window with ten tabs of YouTube videos, all loaded up and ready to watch. The above box appeared in the middle of watching one.

I couldn't work out how to stop the countdown so I just saved everything in sight, taking the screenshot along the way.

Now, I've switched to "Automatically download and inform me". We'll see what happens.

4 Comments:

  • Thats a bit strange, and rather annoying! I've never seen that button disabled or have a timer before. Usually when an application demands I restart by only offering a "restart now" button I just drag it off the screen and forget about it. But what to do when a timer's involved? Hmmm... kill the process? I'm the type of person that if I saw a timer like that, I'd run around to the back of the case and rip the power cord out shouting: "no timers gonna decide when you restart! you'll restart when I tell you to restart bastard!" ... and then I take my pills and everything is nice again.

    By Blogger GammaGoblin, At 3:38 AM, August 09, 2006  

  • I often have that - which is why I've done the same as you Bill; it is so annoying - the thing is you click "later" and it pops up again in five minutes saying "gonna do it now" and you go "no, I said later" and then 5 minutes later, up it pops...

    ...so why do they say "you can continue working while these updates are installed" ?

    And it's not just microsoft; firefox and their auto-downloading updates; I'd ran out of diskspace on my home pc the other day; the pop-up happenned and wisely I said "oh, do it next time you start"; of course, next time it started the install failed and I had to use IE until I'd freed up enough space for a total install.

    Oh those poodling flumps!

    I guess it's okay for idiots who wouldn't know an RS232 from their COM1 but for the rest of us...

    By Blogger M., At 9:41 AM, August 09, 2006  

  • Hi Bill,

    Could the greyed out "Restart Later" button be to do with you being logged in as a non-admin user? I think only users with admin rights get the option to restart later.. Although I could be completely wrong and there's no way to force the dialog box up to test it!

    By Anonymous Simon Dobson, At 3:38 AM, August 13, 2006  

  • Firefox has lost my love.

    By Anonymous Tuckle, At 10:23 PM, August 19, 2006  

Post a Comment



<< Home